Film Review: Watchmen

Rating:

4 Masked heroes and a bag of potato chips

The short version:

Teh hawtness. But…

The long(er) version:

I saw Watchmen with my wife last night. This offered an interesting juxtaposition, as I’ve read my copy of the comic a few squillion times, in contrast to my wife who had only recently heard about it from me. To be honest, I went in with mixed feelings – part of me wanted to love it, while the other part just couldn’t imagine how the dense characterization and plot would translate easily to the screen.

Well, in a nutshell I loved it, but my wife was not as enthralled as me. This is not to say that she didn’t enjoy it, but the visual presentation was so engaging that it was almost in contention with the dialogue, making the plot difficult to follow. In the end I suspect that I was only able to sit back and enjoy the awesome visuals because I already knew the story.

The movie was visually stunning, and the opening credits that I’d heard so much about were gorgeous. The casting really worked for me, with Jackie Earle Haley a particular stand out as Rorschach. (I think I nearly had a nerdgasm when he delivered the “I’m not locked up in here with you. You’re locked up in here with me.” line. Ooh.) and to be honest I think that the big change in the end game worked just fine, without detracting or changing the ending unduely.

I’m probably going to have to see it a few more times to really process the film (I walked out feeling a bit like I was trying to take in a huge picture with my face pressed right up against it) but I’ll definitely be seeing it again.

About this entry